Semolina porridge

Now I have had my first week of surgery, back in the mines working away. I have been starving hungry from the moment I get to the hospital (which has been obscenely early) to the moment I leave. I just cannot eat in the morning right when I wake up, and I have been living on instant grits and instant oatmeal. (No hassling me about the instant grits, “no self-respecting Southern would ever eat instant grits”, I know, I know.) Recently I read that instant oatmeal is a total scam and you can do it pretty instantly (2 minutes )in the microwave . So I am going to start posting ideas of snacks and ways to prep “instant” oatmeal yourself.

This weekend I am starting this off by making semolina porridge (cream of wheat), or mannagrynsgröt, which is the most delicious thing! I am hoping to be able to get into a system of making it during the weekend and having Tupperware portion packs ready for the week. For my semolina porridge I shaved chocolate over raspberries that I mixed with some honey. I am sure it seems like it would be less healthy because of the chocolate, but when you shave the chocolate it really is such a tiny amount. Also, I used dark chocolate.

mannagrynsgröt, semolina, porridge, snacks, raspberry,

Semolina porridge

1 3/4 cups (4 dl) milk

1/4 cups (1/2 dl) semolina grain

1/4 tsp salt

  1. Bring the milk to a simmer.
  2. Whisk in the semolina and the salt.
  3. Simmer and stir for about 5 minutes, until thickened.
  4. Serve with milk, jam or fruit, cinnamon, sugar etc.

mannagrynsgröt, semolina, porridge, snacks, raspberry, semolina porridge

Leave a Reply

