Chanterelle Toast and Herb Butter Spaghetti with Chanterelles and Parma ham

I was at an outdoor market, haggling with the vendors, and managed quite the haul! I bought rasberries, white cabbage (for the “Sheep in Cabbage” I made earlier), parsley, and about 1½ lbs of chanterelles! I am happy I was able to get such a good deal, especially on the chanterelles, since they are usually a bit too pricey for my grad student food budget! And so I get to share a classic starter – to the point of being the Swedish version of beans on toast – chanterelles on toast. The chanterelles are sauted and then sprinkled with flour before adding cream, serve on toast when the sauce is thick and before the mushrooms are mush.

Some of the sauted chanterelles were set aside for the simplest dinner that’s perfect for weekdays when you are running a little late, spaghetti with chanterelles and parma ham.

After the pasta was boiled I tossed the pasta in some cream, salt, pepper, and finely chopped herbs (parsley, tarragon, basil). Pulled the parma ham apart and draped ontop, then added a little pile of chanterelles.

Erik and I had just been at the gym, so I guess maybe this massive carbo-load might be alright as long as it doesn’t become a habit!

Leave a Reply

